About Us

In This Section

Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark began as a museum in 1983 providing visitors with a unique experience and valuable insight into Birmingham’s industrial past. We continually strive to create the best experience possible to all our visitors and guests. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your time here more enjoyable and educational.

 

STAFF DIRECTORY

ADMINISTRATION

John W. Nixon, Jr.

Executive Director

John.Nixon@Birminghamal.gov

(205)  254-2027

 

Niki Frazier

Administrative Services Manager

Nikitres.Frazier@Birminghamal.gov

(205) 254-2029

 

Regina Nash

Administrative Clerk

Regina.Nash@Birminghamal.gov

(205) 254-2095

General Inquiries

 

SITE PRESERVATION & HISTORY

Karen Utz

Curator/ Historian

Karen.Utz@Birminghamal.gov

(205) 254-2281

Sloss Speakers Bureau, Photography & Film Shoots, General Sloss Furnaces History Inquiries

 

EDUCATION

Ty Malugani

Tyler.Malugani@Birminghamal.gov

(205) 254-2254

Field Trips, Group Tours, Classroom Visits, General Education Inquiries

 

EVENTS

Scottie McClaney

Events Director

Scottie@slossfurnaces.com

(205)  254-2031

Weddings & Events

 

METAL ARTS

Marshall Christie

Director of Metal Arts

Marshall@slossfurnaces.com

www.slossmetalarts.com

Metal Arts Events & Classes

 

MAINTENANCE

Charles Williams

Building Maintenance Superintendent

Charles.Williams@Birminghamal.gov

(205) 254-2025